Regional Groups


DavidMooreChair – Dr. David Moore (Glasgow Caledonian University)

Dr Moore is an Audio Technology Lecturer and leader of the BSc Audio Technology degree at Glasgow Caledonian University.  He commenced this post in 2009 after completing his PhD at the University of Huddersfield.  His main research interests include: Spatial Audio, and the Effects of Hearing Loss on Music Perception.  He is a member of the AudioLab research group at GCU and is the current chair of the Audio Engineering Society Scottish group.  He was also organiser of the 26th Audio Engineering Society UK Conference on Audio Education.



MarianaLopezCo-Chair – Mariana Lopez (University of York)

Mariana Lopez has a background in music, sound design and acoustics. Her MA dissertation (University of York) focused on exploring the creation of a new format of sonic art entitled ‘audio film’ that may be considered as an alternative to Audio Description for visually impaired audiences.  In 2013 she completed her PhD at the University of York on the importance of virtual acoustics to further our understanding of medieval drama.

In 2014 Mariana joined the Cultures of the Digital Economy Research Institute (CoDE, Anglia Ruskin University) as a Senior Research Fellow.  In 2016 she moved to York to start a position as Lecturer in Sound Production and Post Production at the Department of Theatre, Film and Television (University of York).

Mariana is the Principal Investigator for the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) funded project ‘Enhancing Audio Description’ and the British Academy funded project ‘The Soundscapes of the York Mystery Plays’.

Mariana is also active in the field of sound design, having worked on a number of short films and theatre productions.


BenMosleyCo-Chair  Ben Mosley (Leeds Beckett University)

Ben Mosley is a Senior Lecturer at Leeds Beckett University specialising in Audio Engineering and Acoustics. He is Course Leader for the BSc (Hons) Audio Engineering course and teaches across a range of undergraduate and postgraduate audio and acoustics modules. After graduating from the University of Derby’s Music Technology and Audio System Design course in the early 2000’s, he worked as an installation engineer, installing recording studios and music technology suites for a range of private sector and educational institutions across the UK. Ben continues to work as a recording engineer and acoustician. He is an associate member of the Institute of Acoustics and a Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy. He is currently studying for a DEng in sustainable acoustics and researching into audio education and green audio.



RyanStables_v01Co-Chair  Ryan Stables (Birmingham City University)

Ryan Stables is a Senior Lecturer in Digital Signal Processing and leader of the Audio Group in the Digital Media Technology (DMT) Lab at Birmingham City University. Ryan has a degree in Sound Engineering and a PhD in Audio Signal Processing, and is currently working in the areas of semantic audio analysis, intelligent music production, data sonification and music informatics. Ryan currently leads The SAFE Project and has recently had both national and international press for his work on semantic music production and cancer diagnostics using sonification.


Aglaia-UK-websiteCo-Chair – Aglaia Foteinou (University of Wolverhampton)
Aglaia Foteinou is a Senior Lecturer in Music Technology, Department of Music, and Course Leader for the MA/MSc by Research in Performing Arts, Music Technology and Humanities at the University of Wolverhampton. She obtained both MSc and PhD degrees in Music Technology from the University of York and a BA degree in Musicology from the University of Athens. Her work is on virtual acoustics, acoustic measurements and computer modelling of heritage sites as well as her research interests focus on auralization and perceptual evaluation.




Chris BarlowChair – Chris Barlow (Southampton Solent University)

Dr Barlow studied Music at the University of Sheffield and Music Technology at the University of York.  He has taught in both the Secondary and Higher education sectors as a specialist in Audio Engineering and Acoustics.  Chris is Director of Solent Acoustics – the university’s acoustic consultancy and training business, and is course leader for the MSc Applied Acoustics.

Always interested in the science of sound, Chris moved into acoustics for his PhD at the University of York, specialising in voice and speech analysis, and completed in 2003 to work in a postdoctoral research fellowship at Leeds College of Music. He moved to Southampton Solent University in 2004 as a lecturer in audio engineering, was made Reader in 2009, Associate Professor in 2012 and Professor in 2016.  Particular interests include audio production, sound design, spatial audio and sound for video games, with recent projects focusing on 3d and virtual reality.

Chris is Chair of the South of England group of the Audio Engineering Society, sits on the Southern Branch committee of the Institute of Acoustics, and also on the UK National Executive of the Audio Engineering Society.   He is also interested in Educational Technology, and has been chair of the International Conference on ICT in Education since 2012.


Phe Headshot Trim Box

Co-Chair –  Phelan Kane

Phelan Kane is a London based music producer, engineer, artist, developer and educator. For almost twenty years he has been active in the music industry producing, programming, engineering, editing, mixing, performing and teaching. His credits include sources as diverse as Placebo, Radiohead, Fad Gadget, Depeche Mode, Moby, Snow Patrol, Mute, Sony BMG, Universal, EMI and Warner Bros. For over sixteen years, Phelan has been teaching aspects of music production and music technology at HE level. He has engaged in curriculum development and design being the lead architect for six under-graduate and two-post graduate music related degrees. In 2006 he completed a MA in Audio Technology from the London College of Music and became one of the first wave of Ableton Certified Trainers in the world in 2008. He has recently completed study for a MSc in Sound & Music Computing at the Center for Digital Music at Queen Mary, University of London.  He is an active member of the UK’s Music Producers Guild, holds a PG Cert in Learning & Teaching, is an Affiliate of the Institute for Learning, a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy and Chairman of the Audio Engineering Society UK’s London Regional Committee. He owns a very (un)healthy collection of audio hardware and software toys and possesses an obsession with synthesis owning many vintage analogue synthesizers such as modular systems, Moogs, ARPs and Oberheims. He is currently running the electronic music record label Meta Junction Recordings and the audio software development company Meta Function.


Co-Chair –  Katie Tavini

Katie Tavini is a Mastering Engineer working out of her London studio. She has been mastering since 2011 and has credits over a wide variety of genres. Katie is dedicated to helping diversify the music industry, and since January 2017 has been hosting engineering workshops with Red Bull aiming to inspire more women to learn about audio engineering.