AES British Section Past Committee Members

Tomos Wise

Past Chair – Tomos Wise (Solid State Logic), Chair in 2014.

Tom joined the AES while studying Electronic Engineering with Music Technology Systems at the University of York. He has a diverse background in music, having worked in Research & Development for a number of prestigious companies including Meridian Audio, Oxford Digital and Solid State Logic, all of which are AES Sustaining Members. An accomplished live sound engineer, he has also played and recorded with several bands. Tom is now Product Manager for SSL’s Live consoles. He has been on the AES committee since 2011.

Ben Supper

Ben Supper (ROLI) – Committee 2010-2014, Chair in 2013.

Since graduating from Surrey’s Tonmeister course in 2000, Ben Supper has worked as a design engineer at Cadac Electronics, as hardware team leader for Focusrite/Novation, and currently at ROLI as the head of physical technology. Along the way, he’s written DSP algorithms, designed mass-market audio hardware, completed a PhD, lectured on a number of subjects, and co-written patents and technical papers. An AES member since 1998, he joined the UK committee in 2010.

Rob ToulsonRob Toulson (Anglia Ruskin University) – Committee 2013-2014.

Rob Toulson is Director of the Cultures of the Digital Economy Research Institute at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge. He is an active researcher in sound, audio and music production fields, holding a first degree in Engineering, a PhD in Digital Signal Processing, and a number of years’ experience working in the electronics industry as well as teaching electronics and music technology in Higher Education. Rob is founder of the Cambridge regional branch of the Audio Engineering Society and he is a director of both Half-ton Studios in Cambridge and High Barn Studios in Essex. Rob is also a successful music producer and recording, mixing and mastering engineer, with a number of commercial credits to his name.

Patrick NaylorPatrick Naylor (Imperial College) – Committee 2013-2014.

Patrick Naylor is a member of academic staff in the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering at Imperial College London, where he is involved in teaching and research for digital signal processing applied to audio, speech and acoustics. Important topics in his work are microphone array signal processing, blind multichannel acoustic system identification and equalization, and single and multi-channel speech enhancement. He is also a director of the UK Centre for Law Enforcement Audio Research, and a member of the IEEE Signal Processing Society Technical Committee on Audio and Acoustic Signal Processing.

Chris BaumeChris Baume (BBC) – Committee 2013-2014.

Chris Baume joined BBC R&D following his master’s degree in Electronics with Music Technology at the University of York. He has worked on a variety of projects covering many different topics, including spatial audio, video quality analysis, audio codec evaluation and systems architecture design. In 2010, he joined the BBC’s audio research group where he has investigated artificial bandwidth extension of speech, and collaborated with Queen Mary University of London on creating a system for analysing music to extract information about its mood. He is currently developing the next generation of broadcast audio production tools.

Kerry-Anne KubisaKerry-Anne Kubisa (University of Leeds) – Committee 2014.

Graduating from the University of Sheffield in Creative Music Technology in 2001, Kerry-Anne is currently the audio engineer and studio manager at the School of Music, University of Leeds. Specialising in acoustic and location recording, she turns her expertise to Classical and World music of all scales: chamber music, operas, orchestras, and choirs. As the technical coordinator for The Universities Concert series, she has engineered for artists including John Williams, Corinne Bailey Rae, Kirsty Almeida and the Troubadours, Zoe Rahman, Bill Nelson and Rei Nakamura. She has also recorded for The Leeds International Piano Competition, the BBC, and Dame Evelyn Glennie. An active member of the AES Education Committee, Kerry-Anne founded the AES North of England region in 2010, and continues to run, coordinate, and promote its many lectures and events.

Kerry-Anne KubisaAlan Trevena (Jaguar Land Rover) – Committee 2014.

Alan Trevena is the audio systems specialist at Jaguar Land Rover, advising on acoustics, installation, design, and technology for in-car audio systems. Alan previously served as a senior engineer at Alpine Electronics and at DLC Design, and has more than ten years’ experience in automotive audio. He has been an active AES participant ever since graduating from the University of Salford’s Electroacoustics course in 2003, and currently chairs the AES Loudspeaker and Headphone technical committee.

Will EvansWill Evans (Focusrite) – Committee 2009-2013, Chair in 2012.

Will Evans has a background in acoustics (he studied Acoustical Engineering at the ISVR, University of Southampton), and recently passed his PhD viva exam at the University of Surrey. His thesis explored the effects of loudspeaker directivity upon the perception of reproduced sound, and he taught Electroacoustics on the Tonmeister Course for three years whilst studying. Always a music and recording enthusiast, Will’s own record label, which he started in 2006 whilst studying at Southampton, slowly gained notoriety and led to his working in the music industry, assisting at Warp Records and managing a number of signed acts. He continues to run the label and is also Artist and Public Relations manager at Focusrite — a role which sees him combine his passion for artists/records with audio engineering.

David PopeDavid Pope (MusicScreen) – Committee 2012-2013.

David Pope has worked in the Cinema industry for over 20 years. Trained as an audio engineer with Neve, he worked as a sound dubbing consultant for Sony Cinema Products and quickly rose to be General Manager of their European Operation. David joined DTS as Director of Business Development in 2001 and is well known for his work in supporting the Disability Working Group and establishing a subtitling and audio description service to UK Cinemas. In January 2010 he joined XDC (now dcinex) as Director of Operations for UK and IE. To date he has firmly established dcinex as the leading digital cinema company for the independent exhibition sector.